Sista Spotlight (Part 2): Ebony has her say & provides pix from back in the day!

Ebony & Aneesah show off their toughness during their freshman year of college

The title of this post basically sums up my rapping skills. No applause, please. But after I wrote my previous Spotlight, where Aneesah talked about her BFF, Ebony, Ebony also wanted to chime in. She told me about their foray into rap music and sent some priceless photos that I had to share.

So, take it away, Ebony:

Spotlight on: Ebony, 36

Aneesah & Ebony have a night out on the town for senior prom

Location: Raleigh/Durham, NC

Becoming Sistas?

“We may have met in 6th grade but didn’t become close friends until the 7th. We became closer and more like best friends in the 9th grade when we began to write raps together and formed a group.

“The first impression I can recall of Aneesah is that she was a fun, funny and free spirited person.”

Shared activities?

“When we hang out, we usually play catch up. lol! We talk for hours on end, go shopping, watch TV, eat and/or listen to music.

“Since we’ve known each other for so long, I can’t really recall us not doing the same things I mentioned (previously). The only difference is that these things mainly happen now with our children included. ”

Brag on your buddy. What makes Aneesah a good friend?

“She makes me laugh until my stomach and cheeks hurt! =) No, but seriously, Aneesah is more like a sister to me. She is thoughtful, supportive, caring and fun. She’s super passionate about her beliefs, and doesn’t look down on anyone who doesn’t agree or see eye-to-eye with her. Even when we disagree, she still finds a way to break the ice and move on to the next item of business. This is usually done with a laugh or a smile… or one of her quirky gestures. 😉 Either way, it is an art that Nee has mastered.”

Current role of Sista(er)hood in your life?

“I am very satisfied with my relationships with women at this stage of my life. I feel that each person has a place in my life for a reason, and vise-versa. There is a comforting balance in my life that has been supported by the bonds I’ve formed with the women in my circle. I cherish them dearly and value their relationships greatly.”

About Shay

I'm a fan of good friends, good food and good writing.
This entry was posted in Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sista Spotlight (Part 2): Ebony has her say & provides pix from back in the day!

  1. TBM says:

    That’s so cool that you’ve been friends for so long. I moved when I was in high school and lost touch with several of my close friends. However, two of my best friends I’ve know for over 20 years. They know everything about me and still like me 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Shay says:

    Yeah, I moved alot too. I’m always impressed to learn about people who have great long term friends. Thanks for tuning in, TBM!

  3. dilipnaidu says:

    I times of trials it is friendship that makes us happy! Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Sista Spotlight: Glittery shoes bonds first grader to lifelong mentor | Sista, You've Been On My Mind

Leave a Reply

