100-word Wednesday: My Silver Linings Playbook

Dad went gray before he was 30. He may have been 28 when his hair became more salt than pepper.

I used to tease him. Old man, I called him. I always asked if it was snowing, then pointed to his white crown.

He never got mad. He told me that there was gray in my future, because I have his hair. Whatever, I said.

I don’t say that anymore. Not 14 years after his death. Not when I look in the mirror and see these silver strands and his smile smiling back at me. Now I’m the old (wo)man.

About Shay

I'm a fan of good friends, good food and good writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

